Barred Owl

A Barred Owl (Strix varia) spotted during a photowalk through the “Wildlife Sanctuary,” one of seven small parks in the community of Hollin Hills, Fairfax County, Virginia USA.

P1040249-rw2-ver6_apertureP1040249-rw2-ver2_apertureP1040185-rw2-ver2_apertureP1040171-rw2-ver3_apertureP1040165-rw2-ver2_aperture

A resident of Hollin Hills told me about a nesting pair of “owls” in the Wildlife Sanctuary. I searched for the owls for over a year; no luck. I decided to look again for my great white whale. My persistence paid off! I heard the owls calling each other (call, return call); one owl sounded closer to me. I moved toward the louder sound and spotted the Barred Owl shown in the preceding gallery.

Copyright © 2012 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved. www.wsanford.com

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Barred Owl”

  1. Top 10 Photos of 2012 (Part 1) | walter sanford's photoblog Says:

    […] Barred Owl, 03 April 2012 […]

Leave a Reply

