Green Treefrog

The following photos show a Green Treefrog (Hyla cinerea) spotted during a photowalk through Huntley Meadows Park on 16 October 2013.

Green Treefrog (Hyla cinerea)

Green Treefrog (Hyla cinerea)

I saw the treefrog while I was searching for dragonflies. The little frog seemed to be intent on crawling into a crack in the boardwalk, as shown in the following gallery. I watched with amusement until I noticed a large group of people walking toward our location, so I nudged the frog in the direction of the cattails alongside the boardwalk. The frog resisted my prodding at first; suddenly it jumped at least six feet onto the rushes! I was happy to show the frog to the people after it had moved to a safer spot (shown above).

Copyright © 2013 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Green Treefrog”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    I love these little guys and am always amazed when I see the long toes with suction cups at the end (it seems). Nice shots and nice save in helping get him to safety–many of the folks walking the boardwalk are not really paying attention.

Leave a Reply

