Autumn Meadowhawks like timberlands too!

The following Autumn Meadowhawk dragonflies (Sympetrum vicinum) were spotted near a vernal pool in the forest during several photowalks at Huntley Meadows Park in October 2014.

My speculation is meadowhawk dragonflies — including both Autumn Meadowhawks and Blue-faced Meadowhawks — are arboreal. They live in trees for months and burst on the scene at ground/water level when it’s time to mate. [For details regarding my theory, see the “Editor’s Note” in Arboreal dragonflies like timberlands.]

Is there evidence that supports my theory? Well, the following photos clearly show Autumn Meadowhawks like timberlands. Timberland Boots, that is. Yuk-yuk!

Guys like ’em …

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (male, perching on my Timberland Boot)

30 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (male)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (male, perching on my Timberland Boot)

30 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (male)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (male, perching on my Timberland Boot)

30 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (male)

Gals like ’em …

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female, perching on my Timberland Boot)

30 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female, perching on my Timberland Boot)

30 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female, perching on my Timberland Boot)

30 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female, perching on my Timberland Boot)

30 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female, perching on my Timberland Boot)

20 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female)

And couples like ’em too!

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonflies (mating pair, in tandem, perching on my Timberland Boot)

27 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (mating pair, in tandem)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonflies (mating pair, in tandem, perching on my Timberland Boot)

20 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (mating pair, in tandem)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonflies (mating pair, in tandem, perching on my Timberland Boot)

20 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (mating pair, in tandem)

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonflies (mating pair, in tandem, perching on my Timberland Boot)

20 October 2014 | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (mating pair, in tandem)

Copyright © 2014 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

