Wildlife Watching at Huntley Meadows Park, redux

It’s the traditional time of year when we give thanks for our many blessings. I am especially thankful for the opportunity to be a frequent and careful observer of the natural beauty of the hemi-marsh at Huntley Meadows Park, and for many good friends with whom I share the experience. And thanks to WordPress.com for the blog that enables me to share my sightings with others!

Last year I noticed a single male Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (Sympetrum vicinum) perching on the signage along the boardwalk, located near the observation tower. I wondered how many visitors wandered past the sign without noticing the dragonfly watching the “Wildlife Watching” sign.

On Veteran’s Day, 11 November 2014, I noticed two male Autumn Meadowhawks perching on the same sign so I stopped to take a few photos (shown above). Nearly a dozen people passed me and not one person stopped to see what I was photographing. Hard to believe but it’s true. As the sign says, “Take Time to Look Carefully” when you visit the park!

Copyright © 2014 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Wildlife Watching at Huntley Meadows Park, redux”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    Reblogged this on Mike Powell and commented:
    Like my friend, Walter Sanford, I am thankful to have such a wonderful suburban oasis that serves as a refuge and an inspiration for so much of my outdoor photography. Walter has had a powerful influence on me as I have gotten more serious in my pursuit of dragonflies this past year. He has always been willing to share his time and extensive knowledge with so many of us, serving as an ambassador for Huntley Meadows Park. Thanks, Walter! Be sure to check out his blog for some amazing photos and fascinating information.

  2. New Hampshire Garden Solutions Says:

    I remember meeting two college age girls on a trail once. I asked them if they had seen any wildflowers and both of them said they hadn’t. I found that strange because the woods were full of them, and orchids grew just feet from where they stood.

  3. Birder's Journey Says:

    Thanks for rebogging this, Mike.
    Great set of photos and a great way to send this wonderful message! I see a lot of hope for change in people’s awareness . . . more and more parents taking their young children out into the preserves and natural areas, sharing their enthusiasm, and promoting curiosity and a sense of wonder! 😉

  4. Marie Keates Says:

    I’m sure people often wonder what I’ve stopped to take pictures of but I’m glad for all the little things that make me smile every day. Far too many people walk around with their eyes half shut complaining life is boring.

Leave a Reply

