To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before (Part 1)

To all the girls I’ve loved before
Who traveled in and out my door
I’m glad they came along
I dedicate this song
To all the girls I’ve loved before

This is the first installment in a three-part series featuring some of my favorite photos of female dragonflies spotted while photowalking Huntley Meadows Park during Fall 2014.

The following photo shows an Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (Sympetrum vicinum) spotted on 24 October 2014 near a vernal pool in a relatively remote location in the forest. This individual is a female, as indicated by its coloration and terminal appendages.

Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female)

“Oh, it’s just an Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly. Very common,” you may be thinking. Well, this may be the best photo of a single Autumn Meadowhawk I’ve ever taken, he said, not too modestly! I like the clarity and color palette. The seed pod on which the dragonfly is perching reminds me of a cornucopia or “horn of plenty” — a perfect prop for autumn!

Copyright © 2014 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before (Part 1)”

  1. Top 10 Photos of 2014 | walter sanford's photoblog Says:

    […] 24 OCT 2014 | HMP | Autumn Meadowhawk dragonfly (female) […]

Leave a Reply

