Chesapeake Explorer

It is an honor to announce two of my photographs are featured in “Chesapeake Explorer,” a recently updated National Park Service Web site.

The first photo is featured on two pages: PLACES TO GO features a cropped thumbnail version of the photo; and ACCOTINK BAY WILDLIFE REFUGE features a full-size version of the photo.

Fishermen on Accotink Bay, Fairfax County, Virginia USA.

Fishermen on Accotink Bay

The photo was taken with a handheld Panasonic DMC-FZ150 superzoom bridge camera, using the following settings: ISO 100; 4.5mm (25mm, 35mm equivalent); 0 ev; f/3.6 plus manual focus, for maximum depth-of-field; 1/1000s.

The second photo is featured on three pages: HUNTLEY MEADOWS’ WETLANDS ATTRACT A VARIETY OF SPECIES, INCLUDING HUMANS features a thumbnail version of the photo; HUNTLEY MEADOWS PARK features a full-size version of the photo; and PHOTOGRAPHING NATURE AND WILDLIFE features a thumbnail version of the photo.

The observation tower located along the boardwalk at Huntley Meadows Park, Fairfax County, Virginia USA.

Three generations of nature appreciation

The photo was taken with a tripod-mounted Canon EOS 5D Mark II and Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II lens, using the following settings: ISO 100; 35mm; 0 ev; f/16; 1/50s.

Tech Tip: The point-of-contact at the National Park Service was able to find me as a result of the EXIF and IPTC information embedded in both photos. So what’s the take-away from this positive experience? Adding metadata to your photos is time well-spent!

WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Landscape

Copyright © 2015 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Chesapeake Explorer”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    Congratulations, Walter. Both shots are wonderful. Thanks for the tip on the metadata. I am used to checking the EXIF info for my camera settings, but have never thought to add my name to the info.

  2. Walter Sanford Says:

    This post was submitted for the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: “Landscape.”

  3. jmacindoe Says:

    The water shot is wonderful – great capture!

  4. Landscape (Powerlines) | What's (in) the picture? Says:

    […] walter sanford’s photoblog Chesapeake Explorer […]

  5. mrmickca Says:

    I love the water shot! Especially how you got the clear reflection of the clouds in the water.

    • waltersanford Says:

      Thanks for the kind words. Welcome to my blog! I’m curious — how did you discover this post so long after it was published? The backstory on this photo is interesting. I was trying to get a better look at some black and orange birds that I guessed might be Baltimore Orioles. I walked from a tree-lined field to the shore of Lake Accotink. As I was looking for the birds in the trees I turned around and thought, “Whoa, that’s picturesque!” I shot one photo (usually I shoot several photos just to be sure I nailed the shot); turns out one shot was all I needed. This photo is one of my all-time favorites.

Leave a Reply

