Who knew?

Who knew toads are more popular than dragonflies? I didn’t. That is, until YouTube sent a notification that one of my toad videos had reached 1,000 views during the first week in June 2015. 1,561 views as of this writing. Not exactly “going viral,” but hey, not bad for an amateur movie maker like me.

In contrast, the most-watched dragonfly video on my YouTube Channel has 202 views. Go figure!

C’mon, let’s be honest — toads are really ugly! I’m guessing “beautiful” is not the first word you think of when looking at the Eastern American Toad (Anaxyrus americanus) featured in this post. Good “camouflage” is the first word I thought of, so good that I didn’t see the toad until it moved when I almost stepped on it.

On the other hand, dragonflies are beautiful. Makes me wonder why toads are more popular than dragonflies, that is, as measured by YouTube views. I have two theories.

Theory No. 1: Toads are SO UGLY people think they look cool. “Ugly chic,” if such a thing exists.

Theory No. 2 seems more plausible: I’m guessing one or more educators, including classroom teachers and/or science resource teachers, featured my video as part of a lesson/unit on amphibians. I wonder whether it’s possible to see how many views originated from the “.edu” Internet domain.

Related Resource: Toad-ally in love! (Part 1 of 5).

Copyright © 2015 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

One Response to “Who knew?”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    The video in question is really cool–I am not surprised that it got a lot of hits. I like your theory of “ugly chic,” though I don’t know if that accounts for the number of viewers. The internet is a bit strange and it’s hard to know how and why people stumble upon our work. What I do know for sure, though, is that many of my photos and postings that are the most popular, i.e. have the most hits, are not my best ones. It’s one of the mysteries of life.

Leave a Reply

