Painted Skimmer dragonflies (males)

Flashback to the first week in June, when I shot the last photo set of one of my favorite species of odonate: Painted Skimmer dragonfly (Libellula semifasciata).

No. 1

These individuals are males, as indicated by their terminal appendages, perching in a small meadow near a vernal pool/small permanent pond. As I recall, the images show two different males but it’s been so long since I shot the photos I can’t be sure.

No. 2

Although all three photos look similar, each one is slightly different from the others. I decided to post all three photos since A) I thoroughly enjoy looking at this colorful species of dragonfly; and B) I couldn’t decide which photo is my favorite. Please look at the full-size version of each photo and let me know which one is your favorite. I’m curious to know how many people pick the shot I’d choose if I were forced to select just one.

No. 3

Copyright © 2015 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Painted Skimmer dragonflies (males)”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    I like #1 the most.

  2. Victor Rakmil Says:

    Number 3.

Leave a Reply

