Deer skull

With no disrespect intended toward the deerly departed, sometimes I worry that my body will look similar to this when the search and rescue team finds me after another one of those very long photowalks with my buddy Mike Powell!

A disarticulated White-tailed deer skull (Odocoileus virginianus) spotted at Huntley Meadows Park, Fairfax County, Virginia USA.

The preceding photograph shows a disarticulated White-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus) skull spotted on 22 February 2016 at Huntley Meadows Park. Thanks to Mike Powell for guiding me to the deer’s final resting place.

Related Resource: Circle of life, by Mike Powell.

Copyright © 2016 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Deer skull”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    I worry more that I am the one that will be found in this condition, given my propensity for wandering alone in the wild without my cellphone turned on. Nice capture and use of the word “disarticulated”–it’s hard to work that word into an ordinary conversation.

    • waltersanford Says:

      Thanks, Mike! I’m nothing if not articulate, you know. I thought “deerly departed” would be the phrase that caught your attention, given your propensity for punny humor.

Leave a Reply

