Cobra Clubtail head-tilts

Regular readers of my photoblog know I’m fond of head-tilts in which the dragonfly seems to display some of its personality, especially when the individual is looking at me. Like the following female Cobra Clubtail dragonfly (Gomphus vastus), who I imagine is thinking “Take a picture. It will last longer.”

In the next photo, another female has turned her head nearly upside down. OK, that’s just crazy looking! It reminds me of two movies: The Exorcist (1973); and Beetlejuice (1988).

The male in the last photo is probably thinking “Hey buddy, enough with the bright flashes of light!”

Copyright © 2016 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Cobra Clubtail head-tilts”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    I’m tilting my head and smiling as I note how wonderfully you’ve captured these beautiful dragonflies. 🙂

  2. waltersanford Says:

    Clever comment, Mike. Thanks!

  3. Top 10 Photos of 2016 | walter sanford's photoblog Says:

    […] 16 MAY 2016 | Riverbend Park | Cobra Clubtail (female) […]

Leave a Reply

