Eastern Pondhawk (female, eating prey)

An Eastern Pondhawk dragonfly (Erythemis simplicicollis) spotted at Huntley Meadows Park, Fairfax County, Virginia USA. This individual is a female, shown eating prey (an unknown winged insect).

09 JUN 2016 | HMP | Eastern Pondhawk (female, eating prey)

An Eastern Pondhawk dragonfly (Erythemis simplicicollis) was spotted at Huntley Meadows Park (HMP). This individual is a female, as indicated by her coloration and white terminal appendages. Notice the dragonfly is eating an unknown winged insect.

The Backstory: While I was sitting on my Coleman camp stool waiting for Unicorn Clubtail dragonflies to come to my location, I spotted an Eastern Pondhawk dragonfly perching on the ground a few feet to my right side. Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed the dragonfly suddenly flew up and made a short loop back to its former perch. Thinking the Pondhawk probably captured some sort of prey, I turned to take a photograph. I was able to take two photos before the dragonfly flew away. I guess she didn’t want to share her mid-morning snack with me!

Copyright © 2016 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

