Peter Cottontail

Here comes Peter Cottontail, hoppin’ down the bunny trail. Except he (or she, I’m not sure) didn’t hippity-hop away, alarmed by my approach. He just sat there munching on a mid-morning snack, allowing me to move in slowly for several close-up shots.

The photos in this gallery show one of two Eastern Cottontail (Sylvilagus floridanus) rabbits spotted along the same trail at Occoquan Bay National Wildlife Refuge, Prince William County, Virginia USA.

You can see the red-eye effect, caused by my camera flash, in the preceding photos. Red-eye is easy to correct using photo-editing software. In this case, I chose to post the photos “as is” in order to show the size of the rabbit’s pupils.

Notice the piece of grass/twig extending from the rabbit’s mouth. In my sometimes overactive imagination, I think the twig is a toothpick and the rabbit is giving me his best tough guy defiant stare. “You lookin’ at me?” OK, back to reality!

Copyright © 2017 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Peter Cottontail”

  1. Pete Hillman Says:

    One tough bunny 🙂 Fabulous shots, Walter! I like it that you have left the red-eye in.

Leave a Reply

