Stream Cruiser dragonfly (female)

A Stream Cruiser dragonfly (Didymops transversa) was spotted during a photowalk along Beaver Pond Loop Trail at Accotink Bay Wildlife Refuge, Fairfax County, Virginia USA.

This individual is a female, as indicated by her rounded hind wings and terminal appendages. Look closely at the face and head of the dragonfly. Can you see why “ice cream sandwich face” is my nickname for Stream Cruiser?

The female landed long enough for me to shoot four photos before she flew away — not enough time for me to point her out to Michael Powell, a fellow amateur wildlife photographer and blogger who joined me in search of his first Stream Cruiser. Fortunately, Mike and I were able to photograph a male Stream Cruiser later the same afternoon. Look for photos of the male in my next blog post.

Addendum

I cropped the photo into a square format in order to remove a distracting element. Can you tell what I dislike about the original version? I prefer the square format. Which version do you prefer?

Copyright © 2017 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Stream Cruiser dragonfly (female)”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    Awesome shot, Walter. I didn’t move fast enough to get a look at this lady, but hope to have a chance to do so in the near future.

  2. Christy Turner Says:

    Great shot, Walter. It’s textbook perfect! It’s so detailed it makes me slow down and have a long look.

  3. Christy Turner Says:

    The detail is amazing. It looks mathematical.

  4. Stream Cruiser dragonfly | Mike Powell Says:

    […] first one of the day, a female, and posted an awesome photograph of the beautiful dragonfly in a blog posting yesterday. Unfortunately for me, I was unable to make it to the dragonfly’s location before […]

Leave a Reply

