Springtime Darner dragonfly (male)

(✔︎) Springtime Darner dragonfly (Basiaeschna janata).

Well, now that I’ve seen a Springtime Darner, I can stop hunting for the species this year. Huh? I saw one Springtime Darner in 2015 (my first) and another one in 2016, both females. Apparently, Mother Nature allows me to see one and only one Springtime Darner per year. So check-off Springtime Darner from my target list of species for 2017 and move along, nothing more to see here folks. But seriously, hope springs eternal so I’ll keep looking for this somewhat elusive species.

03 MAY 2017 | Fairfax County, VA | Springtime Darner (male)

This Springtime Darner is a handsome male, as indicated by his terminal appendages and indented hind wings. (The former field marker is shown more clearly than the latter.) The blue coloration along its abdomen also indicates this individual is a male, although less reliably than other field markers since female Springtime Darners are polymorphic including blue and green morphs.

Look closely at the full-size version of the preceding photo — there’s some wild stuff going on in his eyes!

The Backstory

During the dragonfly-hunting “off season,” I had a hunch that a new location in Fairfax County, Virginia USA might be a good place to find some of the more uncommon species of odonates. On 03 May 2017, I visited the spot for the first time. I hiked in and began exploring a mid-size stream. After approximately 30-45 minutes of intensive searching, I hadn’t seen any dragonflies or damselflies and was thinking about moving on to another tried-and-true ode-hunting location.

Fortunately, I noticed something out of the corner of my eye that made me stop: a dragonfly that was perching near the ground made a quick, low flight to a new perch. I didn’t see the exact spot where it landed, but I had an idea of the area where it might be. Turns out it was a male Stream Cruiser dragonfly. The male Springtime Darner (featured in this post) was the next dragonfly I spotted soon afterward. Then it’s like the flood gates opened and I saw lots of other odonates including a new species of dragonfly for my life list.

So what’s the take-away from this experience? It’s a cliche, but persistence pays — don’t give up too soon! Oh, and follow your hunches, otherwise you’ll never know whether you are right. Speaking of hunches, I have a good hunch I’ll revisit the new site soon.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Springtime Darner dragonfly (male)”

  1. Nitin Khanna Says:

    Mindblowing Picture. Great Work and Great Efforts i must say. As an Photographer i can understand that how much important it is to capture moments like these specially in wildlife. You have to be patient and calm all the time in order to capture perfect picture. I am also an Wildlife and Nature Photographer and you can have a look at my work at http://www.nitinkhanna.net and let me know how you find it. I would love to hear from Photographer like you.

Leave a Reply

