Pop quiz

OK, it’s time to assess what you’ve learned about damselflies by following my blog.

Two Southern Spreadwing damselflies (Lestes australis) were photographed on the same day at the same location. Both damselflies are teneral/immature, that is, they are relatively young. One is a female; one is a male. Can you identify the gender of the damselflies shown in the following photos?

I’ll give you a hint: Examine their terminal appendages by looking at the full-size version of both photos.

No. 1

No. 2

Editor’s Note: The answer key will be published in my next post.

Copyright © 2017 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Pop quiz”

  1. Mike Powell Says:

    As a former schoolteacher, you certainly know how most of us will react to the title of your posting today. After a few minutes, my heartbeat has slowed back down to a normal rate and I have examined the two photos. It seems to me that the first one is the male and the second one is the female, though I admit that I may not have been paying attention in class when you covered that material. 🙂

  2. Lova Says:

    1. Male

    2. Female

  3. Pete Hillman Says:

    I am with Lova. Beautiful images as always, Walter!

Leave a Reply

