American Rubyspot damselfly (female)

An American Rubyspot damselfly (Hetaerina americana) was spotted during a photowalk along Bull Run in Fairfax County, Virginia USA. As far as I know, this is the first official record for American Rubyspot at this location.

This individual is a female, as indicated by her terminal appendages and ovipositor.

21 JUN 2017 | Fairfax County, VA | American Rubyspot (female)

Notice one of the damselfly’s wings is either malformed or injured. She was able to fly, although it seemed to be a struggle.

The Backstory

The damselfly landed on my thigh a few minutes before the preceding photograph was taken. It was like she was pleading with me to help her, although I admit I tend to project my thoughts onto the odonates I photograph. I would have tried to unfold her wing, but I never had an opportunity. Two teenage girls and a bear-sized dog startled me! (I never heard/saw them approaching. The girls told me their dog is a Long Hair German Shepherd.) When I flinched the damselfly flew to the perch shown above, just beyond my reach.

Copyright © 2017 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

