My Funny Valentine

Blue-faced Meadowhawk dragonfly (male)

My funny valentine
Sweet comic valentine
You make me smile with my heart
Your looks are laughable
Unphotographable
Yet you’re my favorite work of art

“My Funny Valentine” is a show tune from Babes in Arms, the 1937 musical by Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart.

Blue-faced Meadowhawk dragonfly (male)

Blue-faced Meadowhawk dragonfly (male)

The preceding photographs show a Blue-faced Meadowhawk dragonfly (Sympetrum ambiguum) spotted during a photowalk through Huntley Meadows Park on 24 September 2013. This individual is a male, as indicated by its coloration and terminal appendages.

Copyright © 2014 Walter Sanford. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

